



## WELCOMING SOUTH AFRICA: A NEW MEMBER OF THE G20 GLOBAL INNOVATION HUB

Johannesburg, South Africa – The G20 Global Innovation Hub is pleased to announce the official induction of the Ministry of Health of the Republic of South Africa into our Hub Governing Membership. HE Minister Mathume Joseph Phaahla nominated two senior health officials to represent South Africa in the Hub Steering and Advisory Committees. South Africa' introduction into the Hub shows our collective commitment to addressing critical health challenges, through value-based care, on both a regional and global scale.

"We hope that the Global Innovation Hub will play a trusted advisory role as South Africa looks ahead to our engagement in the G20 Troika and as we build our country-level roadmap for when we host the G20 Presidency in 2025." – Mr. Khaya Sishuba, Chief Director of Global Health, Department of Health, Republic of South Africa

South Africa's membership underscores the Hub's focus on harnessing unique insights from regions across the world. We hope South Africa will contribute to our knowledge sharing and G20 activities to support the transition to more resilient and value-based health systems, that not only resonate with the African continent but also globally.

"From a global perspective, we are excited to leverage the full capabilities within the Global Innovation Hub to drive new research and publications that we can share both within South Africa and abroad to spotlight what's happening on the ground" – Dr. Aquina Thulare, Health Economics Specialist, National Department of Health, Republic of South Africa

The Hub team met with the South African representatives during the Africa Health Exhibition in Johannesburg on 18<sup>th</sup> October 2023. The dialogue yielded productive discussion and we commend South Africa for their willingness to collaborate with the Hub's membership and mandate. We are confident that, with their participation, we will make significant strides in promoting health and value.







Figure 1: Dr Aquina Thulare, Ebele Anidi, Mrs. Nelly Malefetse, Mr. Khaya Sishuba